Doncaster Newsletter 

XCR Round 1 Jells Park – Saturday 22nd April

Round 1 kicked off XCR 2023 with a bang!  26 athletes travelled to Jells Park in Mt Waverly for the cross country relays.  7 teams took on tough opposition, on a day that was picture-perfect for running.  There needed to be a few last-minute changes to teams, and this kept the team manager Campbell McLennan, on his toes!  Thanks to Campbell for your efforts!  Junior athletes ran 1 loop of 3km, whilst seniors ran 2 loops.  It was prudent to know the course beforehand – just when the finish seemed near, another uphill dog-leg was upon you!  However, this also made for excellent spectator viewing as athletes passed the club tents.  A great “Go Donnie” opportunity!! 

Stunned picnickers in Jells Park were treated to Commonwealth Games medallist Abbey Caldwell appearing through the trees, and disappearing just as fast!  She ran the 6km course in a sizzling 20:11, and was the second fastest female athlete overall.  It was fantastic to see her back in action!  Other great efforts were by Lydia Rinaudo and young Chloe Baldock (fastest female DAC 40+ and Junior athletes respectively).  Sanne Bakker and Jemma Young both made brilliant first round efforts stepping up to the Open team, whilst we welcomed newcomers Sarah Dixon and Talise Botha (U14), Emily Jackson 40+, and invitation athlete Emma Schuette (40+).  Our female U14 team were first among strong competition, and the female Open Div. 3 team were 2nd – well done Ladies! 

In the Men’s events, Joel Tobin-White gave the Div. 2 team a lightening start with his time of 18:04, and was the fastest DAC male athlete on the day.  Oscar O’Connor and Luca Scholes-Robertson were also in great form, and stepping up from the Junior ranks into the Open team.  We welcomed newcomers Harry Maddocks (U16) who made a fantastic DAC debut as the fastest Junior male athlete, and Lionel Wirth (37), who ran a credible time of 23:47 in his first race.  Brendon Cullen was in fine form – quickest of the 40+ athletes, and was joined by Michael Gallacher, who has returned to winter competition after a spell.  El Presidente, Nathan Down was back in action for XCR 2023, along with his Vice, Campbell McLennan (and some of the McLennan clan), and returning athletes Jim Finch, John Curry and Brock Goodings.

See all results in the table below.  Congratulations to all who competed! 

A shout for Club Volunteers during XCR 2023!

DAC are required to provide volunteers/officials during several XCR rounds.  In Round 1 – a huge thanks to Leighton Kearney, Laurie Scholes-Robertson, and Amanda McLellan for their dedicated assistance!  Parents, partners, friends, and injured athletes are all requested to ‘lend a helping hand’ where possible to share the load. 

Thanks also to Brendan Cullen for bringing and sharing lamingtons, homemade slice, and coffee. What a champ!

Female Open Div 3- 2nd, won by Mornington Pen







4x6km: (Abbey Caldwell: 20:11, Sanne Bakker: 24:47, Jemma Young: 25:54, Georgia Chalmers: 30:04) 1:40:56

Female 14 – 1st



3x3km: (Chloe Baldock: 11:26, Talise Botha: 14:21, Madeleine Kearney: 12:16) 38:03 



(Sarah Dixon: 17:03) – Team incomplete



Female 40 – 5th (INV), won by APS United



3x6km: (Emma Schuette: 27:16 (INV), Lydia Rinaudo: 25:05, Emily Jackson: 31:23) 1:23:44



Male Open Div 2 – 14th, won by Knox



6x6km: (Joel Tobin-White: 18:04, Oscar OConnor: 20:19, Luca Scholes-Robertson: 21:08,



Nathan Down: 25:49, Lionel Wirth: 23:47, Brock Goodings: 30:27) 2:19:34



Male 16 – 14th, won by Williamstown



3x3km: (Harry Maddocks: 10:39, Hamish McLennan: 12:16, Lewis McLennan: 13:15) 36:10



Male 40 – 11th, won by Mentone



3x6km: (Brendan Cullen: 23:26, Michael Gallacher: 28:23, Campbell McLennan: 25:24) 1:17:13



Male 50 – 17th, won by Glenhuntly



3x6km: (Jason Merrett: 28:24, John Curry: 28:01, James Finch: 34:08) 1:30:33















XCR Round 2 – Sunday 7th May

Round 2 will see athletes travel to Lakeside for the annual ‘Lakeside 10’ road race.  Note that the event is on a Sunday morning, and starts and finishes at the stadium.  It is a flat and fast course, but any prevailing headwinds command respect!  Entries close at midday on Wednesday 3rd April.  The race starts at 9am for 40+/Open/U20 men and women, and U18 men. All other juniors start at 8:20am.

DAC AGM on Friday 12th May

A reminder that the Club AGM is being held on Friday 12th at 7pm in the new cricket pavilion at Rieschiecks Reserve.  Annual awards will also be presented, and food and limited drinks on offer! Nominations for Committee positions are still being sought; please contact for further information. 

Information for New Athletes


Bib numbers last the entire season and will be available from the DAC club tent at XCR events, or AV may have mailed them to your home address.  The smaller bib contains the timing chip, and is worn on the front.  No timing chip = no time.

Each round of XCR must be entered separately online via the AV member’s portal (even with an XCR or Max package). The closing for each is 12 midday on the Wednesday prior.   If the round is a relay, please contact the winter coordinator to let them know about your availability (no individual online entry).  Please also contact the winter coordinator if you need assistance with transport.

Details about upcoming XCR events and location are available here: Please contact club officials if uncertain.  Note that this season we will be going to St Anne’s Winery in Rounds 3 and 8……..however, these are two different locations near Bendigo and near Myrniong!!  The old saying “Be in the right place at the right time” applies!